AUTO PICK FOUND

What would you like to see added or fixed in FOF?
Forum rules
This topic is 3 years and 1 month old. Instead of replying, please begin a new topic, or search for another related topic that may be more suitable.
jbob182
Member
Posts: 3
Joined: February 14th, 2010
Reputation: 0

AUTO PICK FOUND

Postby jbob182 » Thu Mar 04, 2010 7:58 pm

ok i figured out an auto pick for the keyboard or any other controller

1. download glovepie
2. use this script
Key.Enter = Keyboard.F1
Key.Enter = Keyboard.F2
Key.Enter = Keyboard.F3
Key.Enter = Keyboard.F4
Key.Enter = Keyboard.F5

where enter is pick and the F# are the frets
Bridged To The Sun.
User avatar
acrox999
Member
Posts: 3597
Joined: March 21st, 2008
Location: /opt/bin/fretsonfire
Reputation: 0
Contact:

Re: AUTO PICK FOUND

Postby acrox999 » Thu Mar 04, 2010 9:20 pm

Then for chords, it will pick all the 2/3/4/5 buttons you pressed.
Mr. Fansonfire
User avatar
lordhardware
Member
Posts: 1600
Joined: November 2nd, 2008
Reputation: 0
Contact:

Re: AUTO PICK FOUND

Postby lordhardware » Thu Mar 04, 2010 10:47 pm

you have to hit the notes exactly ofcourse.
WIP:
"Check Your Hardware: Modern Hits" 11/20
"Check Your Hardware: Australian Anthems" 4/20
"Check Your Hardware: Alternative" 4/20
"Check Your Hardware: Classic Beats" 2/20
"Check Your Hardware: Electronic" 2/10
"Check Your Hardware: Rap" 1/10
I was wrong... maybe
User avatar
Jama7301
Member
Posts: 2000
Joined: May 22nd, 2007
Location: Minnesota
Reputation: 0
Contact:

Re: AUTO PICK FOUND

Postby Jama7301 » Thu Mar 04, 2010 10:54 pm

Wouldn't sustains fail too, or would it not register as continual picks during the time you hold it down?
"The key to strategy...is not to choose a path to victory, but to choose so that all paths lead to a victory."
Black Moon Broods...
User avatar
aander91
Member
Posts: 4873
Joined: December 15th, 2007
Reputation: 0
Contact:

Re: AUTO PICK FOUND

Postby aander91 » Thu Mar 04, 2010 10:55 pm

I don't think so. When you play with strum, you can hold down enter.
COUNTERPOINT

1st Place-July 2010 Guitar Charting Competition
2nd Place-March 2010 Guitar Charting Competition
3rd Place-August 2009 Guitar Charting Competition
4th Place-December 2009 Guitar Charting Competition

Vidya Game Music arranged for String Ensemble
User avatar
ADH
Member
Posts: 1971
Joined: February 18th, 2008
Location: My House
Reputation: 0

Re: AUTO PICK FOUND

Postby ADH » Thu Mar 04, 2010 11:56 pm

I think this idea has been around as long as FoF itself. I did this with joy2key forever ago lol but like acrox said it strums multiple times on chords. but with some simple coding it can be set up to only strum once.
@Slashfan: this is a glovepie script... http://sites.google.com/site/carlkenner ... e_download
WhatIsThisIDon'tEven
User avatar
Davidrawr
Member
Posts: 917
Joined: October 2nd, 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Reputation: 0

Re: AUTO PICK FOUND

Postby Davidrawr » Fri Mar 05, 2010 6:56 pm

Good luck on those fast picking sections.

Enjoy your RSI!
My song thread!
You can cut our wings, but we will always remember what it was like to fly.
jbob182
Member
Posts: 3
Joined: February 14th, 2010
Reputation: 0

Re: AUTO PICK FOUND

Postby jbob182 » Tue Jun 08, 2010 9:27 am

Dear Everyone I have tried this and it works perfect i have no problems with holds or fast picking

it took me a while to figure it out when i made it but it just says if F1 is pressed then press enter and if F2 is pressed press enter ...e.c.t.
lestatos
Member
Posts: 4
Joined: May 25th, 2010
Reputation: 0

Re: AUTO PICK FOUND

Postby lestatos » Mon Jun 14, 2010 8:48 am

Everyone i FOUND a solution !! it works perfect !
just make a script in GlovePie like this one:

Code: Select all

If pressed(Key.One) or pressed(Key.Two) or pressed(Key.Three) or pressed(Key.Four) or pressed(Key.Five) then begin
press(Keyboard.Enter)
release(Keyboard.Enter)
Endif

You can change keys from 1,2,3,4,5 to whichever You like, I'm also sure that it will work with a Joypad (I'll testing it in a while).
lestatos
Member
Posts: 4
Joined: May 25th, 2010
Reputation: 0

Re: AUTO PICK FOUND

Postby lestatos » Wed Jun 16, 2010 3:55 pm

that's true, because unless i press chords perfectly in the same moment, it makes two (or more) strums, but if i make a delay a bit too long, i miss the notes, is there a way to do something with it ?? :) or write a script that will first check triple chords, then double, and in the end one notes ? i tried it in a couple of ways but it doesn't work for me...

I've added a delay:

Code: Select all

If pressed(Key.One) or pressed(Key.Two) or pressed(Key.Three) or pressed(Key.Four) or pressed(Key.Five) then begin
wait 20ms
press(Keyboard.Dot)
release(Keyboard.Dot)
Endif


but it's still not perfect :P
Last edited by lestatos on Wed Jun 16, 2010 4:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Jpop fanatic
raynebc
Moderator
Posts: 5552
Joined: April 20th, 2008
Location: Megumi Island
Reputation: 47

Re: AUTO PICK FOUND

Postby raynebc » Wed Jun 16, 2010 4:01 pm

I don't think there's a perfect solution besides a delay, because FoF isn't mean to work this way. Given that RB3 will have a playable synth part, there may be more demand for the FoFiX developers to finally add support for "no strum" instruments. Using "no strum" for guitar tracks would probably be made available as a cheat option.

You might be able to implement something like:
If a fret button is pressed
Send a delayed strum button ON event, but only if it isn't already on

Don't send a strum button OFF event unless all fret buttons are released. This would make it impossible for the script to send multiple strums for a guitar chord, but would require the user to hit all the fret buttons within a definable duration of time (the delay between the initial fret being pressed and the strum button being signaled).
lestatos
Member
Posts: 4
Joined: May 25th, 2010
Reputation: 0

Re: AUTO PICK FOUND

Postby lestatos » Wed Jun 16, 2010 4:06 pm

and You would have to press the chords in a correct order or it would make a strum between them...
Blue Heaven!
User avatar
death_au
Member
Posts: 3991
Joined: December 12th, 2007
Location: Australia
Reputation: 5
Contact:

Re: AUTO PICK FOUND

Postby death_au » Thu Jun 17, 2010 1:27 am

In that case, might the following work? (Untested)

Code: Select all

Key.Enter = Key.One or Key.Two or Key.Three or Key.Four or Key.Five


This would have the (minor) flaw that if you quickly switched from one fret to another, and for a brief period (no matter how brief) both frets were pressed, then a second strum would not occur. You could not play extended sustains like this for example, unless all notes in the sustain were hammer-ons

Return to “Thoughts ?”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests