Real electronic drumset with FoF - It's awesome!

FOF discussion only. Do NOT post help questions here!
This topic is 7 years and 8 months old. Instead of replying, please begin a new topic, or search for another related topic that may be more suitable.
User avatar
pitythefool26
Member
Posts: 34
Joined: March 25th, 2008
Location: Trenton
Reputation: 0

Postby pitythefool26 » Tue Apr 15, 2008 10:19 pm

I'm not sure if I'm the first to do this, but I hooked my Yamaha DTXplorer electronic drumset up to FoF, and it's awesome! It took me forever to figure out how to get everything to work, and after hours of frustration I'm finally done, and it works! I've only tried it so far with the guitar parts cuz that's all I have. I'm DL'ing FoF 1.1.324 now so I can use Hering MOD to actually play the drum tracks. If anyone wants to know the specifics of how I did this, just reply and I'll post the details. I figured I just won't bother unless someone else happens to have an electronic drumset with MIDI out and wants to do this.
Robskiwarrior
Member
Posts: 7
Joined: April 16th, 2008
Reputation: 0

Postby Robskiwarrior » Wed Apr 16, 2008 7:10 pm

nice! as a drummer that would be cool to know... (although I dont have an electric key just yet... the wife says I can get one soon though :) )
User avatar
pitythefool26
Member
Posts: 34
Joined: March 25th, 2008
Location: Trenton
Reputation: 0

Postby pitythefool26 » Wed Apr 16, 2008 8:18 pm

Ok, I'm going to attempt a small tutorial.

The programs I used to do this are GlovePIE, Midi Yoke, and Midi-OX. It is also necessary that the electronic drumset has a MIDI out port, and that you have a MIDI cable handy. I would reccommend having a sound card with a MIDI In port, which my SB Audigy has, but if yours doesn't, I believe you can buy MIDI to USB converters which will probably be just as good.
Once the MIDI Out from the drumset is hooked up to the PC, you need to make sure it is inputting correctly. So open up Midi-OX and go to Option -> MIDI Devices... and as the input select the appropriate MIDI input that the drums are coming in through. Mine was "SB Audigy MIDI IO 2 [CC00]". As an output, select "Out To MIDI Yoke: 1" or any other MIDI Yoke number, as long as you use the same one later on. If you're done here you can press OK.
Click the Input Monitor button or go to View -> Input Monitor.... If everything is working correctly, you should be able to hit a pad on the drums and it will come up on the input and output monitors. Now, for mine, the drums have a timeclock that sends a signal several times a second, which makes it very annoying and near impossible to see if the input is working right. If this happens for you too, go to Options and click MIDI Filter... even if it is already checked. In that dialog box, click System Realtime, or if it is already checked, uncheck it and then check it again. In the box that opens click All, then OK, then OK again. This should stop the problem.
----NOW---- This is a very important step do not skip it!!!!! This is why the drums won't work directly with GlovePIE!!!!
MIDI drums are always on channel 10. They aren't and can't be on any other channel, so your MIDI signal coming in will be all on channel 10. GlovePIE doesn't like this, so we're going to change it.
Still in MIDI-OX, go to Options -> Data Mapping... and click the Insert button. Under "When Input Matches..." in the Channel drop box, select 10. Leave the other fields the way they are (they should all be at -1 except for Event which is still at Any). Under "Set Output To..." in the Channel drop box, select 1. Channel 1 is the only MIDI channel GlovePIE seems to recognize as far as I know. Leave the rest of the values the same, and click OK. In the current dialog, check "Turn Map On (after OK)" and press OK again. (Thanks to Cold-Gin for reminding me)
Now, our next step is to find out which MIDI note is coming in from each different pad on the drumset. This is an important step also, because every drumset is probably very different. Still in MIDI OX, hit a drum pad an note in the input monitor the value under the "NOTE" column. For my snare pad, this value was "G 1". Now, for some reason, GlovePIE regonizes them each as an octave higher. This means that for my snare I will need to later input the value "g2" into GlovePIE, since this is one octave higher than the note G1, so basically just add one to the end of the numbers. Once you've done all this, you need to go into GlovePIE and open this script. This contains the current values for my drumset, and will probably need to be changed for another drumset, as mentioned above. To do this, edit the field in each line right after MapRange(midi. and change it to the corresponding values from MIDI OX (dont forget to add one to the octave number!). To change the keys set for each drum pad, edit the value after "key.". For example, to make the snare press the "H" key, change the "key.one" in the script to "key.h" and you should be good to go. (Thanks to Cold-Gin for pointing this out.)
In this script, I have included a debug message that displays the selected input device. Click the Run button. If the debug box (Right beside the Run button) doesn't display "In from MIDI Yoke: 1" (or whichever number you used before) then you need to keep adding to the value right after midi.devicein = until the debug displays the correct input. Once you're done this, you should be done!
To test, run the script, open Notepad or something you can type into and hit the pads on the drumset. If it works right you should be typing the keys 1-5.
Now, all you need to do is open up FoF and set the correct keys for the drums.
If anyone tries this let me know (even though nobody probably has an electronic drumset lying around...). And if you want screenshots I can add them later.
Last edited by pitythefool26 on Tue May 13, 2008 9:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Cold-Gin
Member
Posts: 3
Joined: June 22nd, 2007
Reputation: 0

Postby Cold-Gin » Tue May 13, 2008 8:26 am

Hi Pitythefool26,

First of all, THANK YOU! You made my day!
I searched everywhere to do just what you did but couldn't find anything.

It took me an hour, but I finally got it working on my small Yamaha drum pads.
There are two things you forgot to mention in your tutorial, fisrt, in the script, replace 'key.one' 'key.two' etc. by 'key.A' 'Key.S' etc. If you want the first pad to be mapped to the letter A, the second to the letter S, etc.

The other thing was in MIDI-OX, when you're in Data Mapping... you have to click the option 'Turn Map On (after OK)' to apply the settings, then click OK.

Other than that, your tutorial was perfect!

Now, let's hope they make a drum mod for 1.2 (maybe there's one out there, I haven't search for it), that allows 2 guits and a drum (3 necks in the game) AND seperate .ogg files for the drum! I know they can do it!

Again, thanks a lot!
2 + 2 = 5
MarvinPA
Member
Posts: 3272
Joined: December 23rd, 2007
Location: Not in Portland
Reputation: 0

Postby MarvinPA » Tue May 13, 2008 11:08 am

Dude you call that small! Most drum sets should be reognised by FoF as a controller like the RB Drums are we know that they all work,
User avatar
pitythefool26
Member
Posts: 34
Joined: March 25th, 2008
Location: Trenton
Reputation: 0

Postby pitythefool26 » Tue May 13, 2008 9:45 pm

MarvinPA wrote:Dude you call that small! Most drum sets should be reognised by FoF as a controller like the RB Drums are we know that they all work,

Lol when I started typing I thought it would end up being small. The RB drumset is hooked up through USB, and is programmed specifically for RB drums. Electronic drumsets are programmed to trigger MIDI events to emulate drum playing, and that's why it has to be done this way.


Cold-Gin wrote:Hi Pitythefool26,

First of all, THANK YOU! You made my day!
I searched everywhere to do just what you did but couldn't find anything.

It took me an hour, but I finally got it working on my small Yamaha drum pads.
There are two things you forgot to mention in your tutorial, fisrt, in the script, replace 'key.one' 'key.two' etc. by 'key.A' 'Key.S' etc. If you want the first pad to be mapped to the letter A, the second to the letter S, etc.

The other thing was in MIDI-OX, when you're in Data Mapping... you have to click the option 'Turn Map On (after OK)' to apply the settings, then click OK.

Other than that, your tutorial was perfect!

Now, let's hope they make a drum mod for 1.2 (maybe there's one out there, I haven't search for it), that allows 2 guits and a drum (3 necks in the game) AND seperate .ogg files for the drum! I know they can do it!

Again, thanks a lot!

You're welcome! It's good to k now that someone is actually reading it.
That's great that you got it working... it took quite a while to figure out why GlovePIE and the DTXplorer weren't communicating very well.
And thanks for mentioning the stuff I forgot, I'll edit the original post and put those in there.
User avatar
ADH
Member
Posts: 1971
Joined: February 18th, 2008
Location: My House
Reputation: 0

Postby ADH » Tue May 13, 2008 9:48 pm

dude this is awesome
(if only I had an electric drum set)
mrmajestic
Member
Posts: 3
Joined: September 14th, 2006
Reputation: 0

Postby mrmajestic » Sun Jun 15, 2008 11:12 am

Thank you! Thankyouthankyouthankyouthankyou! I have just been pulling my hair trying to find a solution for this problem all over google. (I have a yamaha dd-55, and it should be perfect for playing RB drums) - I'll try your tutorial right away, and will let you know if it works!

//mrmajestic
mrmajestic
Member
Posts: 3
Joined: September 14th, 2006
Reputation: 0

Postby mrmajestic » Sun Jun 15, 2008 3:51 pm

Still not getting it to work... I'm running the GlovePIE script customized for my pads' signals, but no response in notepad when I hit the pads...
User avatar
pitythefool26
Member
Posts: 34
Joined: March 25th, 2008
Location: Trenton
Reputation: 0

Postby pitythefool26 » Sun Jun 15, 2008 7:28 pm

You made sure you made the conversion in MIDI-OX from channel 10 to channel 1? If you've already done that, I guess just try messing with the octaves numbers, maybe it's just mine that required the octave higher.
That's about all I can think of. Let me know how you make out.
User avatar
ADH
Member
Posts: 1971
Joined: February 18th, 2008
Location: My House
Reputation: 0

Postby ADH » Sun Jun 15, 2008 10:21 pm

I'm having the guy in post 10 had dose glovepie work on vista
mrmajestic
Member
Posts: 3
Joined: September 14th, 2006
Reputation: 0

Postby mrmajestic » Mon Jun 16, 2008 4:40 am

This is strange. I just succeeded - in STOPPING most of the signals to go from the drumkit even to MIDI-OX out/in. The connection's still there, as I can play the demo song and a whole cascade of signals flow by in the windows. But the pad hits just won't register anymore. Very strange...

ADH - no, I have XP.

Edit(BlackFate): Put your 3 posts into one, please learn to edit your posts, Thanks.

First of all - thanks a lot for the replies! Every bit of help is immensely appreciated.

Sorry about the next to last post. I managed to get MIDI-OX to recognize output/input again. Same as before, though - to stop the timer clock scrolling I had to check the "apply filter to input monitor too" box in the MIDI Filter window.

I'm back to square one, still no luck from GlovePIE to input text from pads...
Last edited by BlackFate on Mon Jun 16, 2008 5:04 am, edited 1 time in total.
Cold-Gin
Member
Posts: 3
Joined: June 22nd, 2007
Reputation: 0

Postby Cold-Gin » Fri Jul 11, 2008 8:43 am

Hi,

I received a couple of PMs asking me how I made this work... I'm no expert in this, so I'll just send a link to the files I created in GlovePie and MIDI OX.

These scripts use A (Green) S (Red) D (Yellow) F (Blue) G (Bass Drum) for the keys.

Don't forget that it's map for my Yamaha DD-14, your drum will probably display other notes, so you'll have to adjust the scripts.

Midi Drums Scripts

I hope this helps.

P.S. These scripts are for 8 pads, the 4 top pads were 'escape', 'Enter', 'Up' and 'Down'.
This allowed me to map the Starpower on the Enter key and use it when needed.
Also, it was easier to navigate with these pads.
Last edited by Cold-Gin on Fri Jul 11, 2008 12:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
#3 Pro Speed Fretter
User avatar
Razlo7
Member
Posts: 2001
Joined: April 17th, 2008
Location: Spokane, WA
Reputation: 1
Contact:

Postby Razlo7 » Sun Jul 13, 2008 6:41 am

ADH wrote:dude this is awesome
(if only I had an electric drum set)

ditto :p
my mom is too selfish with our money :laugh:
Image
Starting fresh. (:
Ikedude
Member
Posts: 2
Joined: July 17th, 2008
Reputation: 0

Postby Ikedude » Thu Jul 17, 2008 4:46 pm

Awesome. Pure awesomeness. Your tutorial worked perfectly except one little detail... My hi-hat is mapped to Bb 2 and GlovePIE doesn't like that. What is the syntax for a B flat? Sorry if this is an obvious fix.

edit: Nevermind. Looked at a posted script and saw its just BFlat.
Last edited by Ikedude on Thu Jul 17, 2008 5:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Return to “General FOF Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest